Finding Sanity in the Madness

Exploring Social Media

Staying Focused, Being Oblivious to Weather Change April 11, 2011

Filed under: Random — karch10k @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend has been a bit rough for me, but I can begin to see the light at the end of tunnel for this semester. It is nice to be able to put everything into perspective, know what I need to get done within a certain time frame, and focus on them one by one. I spent the better part of this entire weekend (which so happened to be the nicest weather we have had this year) in the West Lafayette Library across the road from Einstein Bagels. The place is nice, the tables are big, and the atmosphere is conducive to getting a lot of work done.

Saturday and Sunday mornings, my friend and I meet to go for a run. Typically somewhere between 45 minutes and an hour of running, and normally around 7:00 mile pace (this probably means little to you unless you run). We cover anywhere between 6 and 9 miles on said run, take a stroll through the trail at the Celery Bog, and sometimes take a loop around the cross country course. Saturday morning, it was nasty outside. It rained on us the entire run, and was just not very enjoyable (running enjoyable? crazy!). We finished our run, headed back to our respective homes, got cleaned up, and met back at the library. Now, at this point, it is still nasty outside, and even raining. We walk into the library with jeans, long sleeves and coats on. It was somewhere in the mid 40s when we ran, and is probably in the 50s now. About 5 hours later, we walk out of the library, once again tired, and crashing from the coffee wearing off. To my surprise, people are walking all over, shorts, tank tops, sandals, it is 75 degrees outside. I have a full regalia of fall/early spring attire on. What happened out here!?

During this time of year, everyone is stressed, everyone is short on time, and everyone really wants to just go outside and forget about all the work. My duration in the library this weekend helped me more than any trip outside would at this point. Getting a LOT of work done right now makes the stress disappear quicker than escapism, because escapism is similar to how alcoholics deal with issues. Sure, by going and doing something fun, you can postpone the stress and dread, but it all comes back to you after the fun is over. I am attempting to keep my head above water and make the final push to finish off the semester, and also attempting to do it with more dedication than in semesters past.

To finish up, I want to post an image. I was looking around online with some of my favorite links and places to go in between work periods. I found a comic that works perfectly for my experience with the weather this morning as well as Knoy 374 (where I hold office hours, will refer to it henceforth as “the dungeon”). The comic is taken from Ph.D Comics and is awesome. Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Staying Focused, Being Oblivious to Weather Change”

  1. Mihaela Says:

    Love the comic!

    And yes, you have a very good point there – the only way to reduce stress is to get to work!

  2. Rachel Says:

    I LOVE that comic!! Hilarious!

    I agree. This time of year is so stressful. I find myself getting mad at people around me over nothing, avoid returning texts because that would take “too much energy” (like it really takes much energy at all) and staying inside day dreaming about being outside, frolicking in the courtyard. OK..sarcasm on the frolicking, but you get the point! Knocking things off my to do list one at a time is a huge stress reliever! It’s like YES I’m almost done!! I have a date when everything has to be done and just keep saying that date over and over in my head. and reminding myself “work now, play later, this is what I signed up for!”. It’s almost summer and we all get a few months to enjoy the beautiful weather and RELAX.

    It’s crazy to me how you enjoy running so much. Good for you!! Kind of like me with swimming! Whatever helps you stay sane, DO IT!

  3. ibukhari Says:

    This is the first semester i have not exercised, i feel stressed out so much and i know it’s because i didn’t work out at all (well no, that a lie) i did attempt going on a JOG a JOG not a RUN and i still couldn’t do it. my lungs were burning and i was like you know what? I’m horrible at this, I’m going home. i WALKED back home. i have too much school work to work out anyways (always makes me feel a wee bit better lol )


Leave a comment